

# Nottinghamshire & City of Nottingham Fire & Rescue Authority

MINUTES of the Annual General Meeting held at Joint Fire / Police HQ, Sherwood Lodge, Arnold, Nottingham, NG5 8PP on 26 May 2023 from 10.30 am - 10.49 am

## Membership

<u>Present</u> <u>Absent</u>

Councillor Michael Payne (Chair)

Councillor Patience Uloma Ifediora (Vice Chair)

Councillor Liagat Ali

Councillor Callum Bailey

Councillor Richard Butler

Councillor John Clarke MBE

Councillor Robert Corden

Councillor Sybil Fielding

Councillor Tom Hollis

Councillor Anwar Khan

Councillor Gul Nawaz Khan

Councillor Johno Lee

Councillor Devontay Okure

Councillor Nick Raine

Councillor Nigel Turner

Councillor Roger Upton

Councillor Jonathan Wheeler

Councillor Jason Zadrozny

Police and Crime Commissioner Caroline Henry

#### Colleagues, partners and others in attendance:

Craig Parkin - Chief Fire Officer

Damien West - Assistant Chief Fire Officer

Mick Sharman - Assistant Chief Fire Officer (Strategic Collaboration for Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire Fire and Rescue Services)

Becky Smeathers – Head of Finance and Treasurer to the Authority

Malcolm Townroe - Clerk and Monitoring Officer

Catherine Ziane-Pryor – Governance Officer

## 1 Appointment of Chair

Resolved to appoint Councillor Michael Payne as Chair of the Authority for the 2023/24 municipal year.

#### 2 Appointment of Vice-Chair

Resolved to appoint Councillor Patience Ifediora as Vice-Chair of the Authority for the 2023/24 municipal year.

### 3 Apologies for Absence

None.

#### 4 Declarations of Interest

None.

#### 5 Minutes

The minutes of the last meeting held on 24 February 2023 were confirmed as a true record and signed by the Chair.

#### 6 Chair's Announcements

The Chair welcomed newly appointed members and welcomed back previous members, highlighting that a Member's Seminar is to be held on 5 June and provides a valuable insight into the Service and requesting that all members attend. Details will be circulated to members.

The Bereaved Families Charter has been approved and adopted by the Service. Following the meeting a photograph will be taken of members with the signed charter in the memorial garden. The initiative, which ensures that post tragedy support is available, has come about as a result of the Hillsborough tragedy.

# 7 Membership of the Authority, Appointments to Committees and Boards, and Dates of Future Meetings

Malcolm Townroe, Clerk and Monitoring Officer, presented the report which sets out the appointments to the Authority by both the City and County councils, confirms the numbers of places on committees with regard to political balance, requests political group nominations to those places and the approval of the committee structure and schedule of dates, as listed in the report.

#### Resolved

## (1) to note the following appointments:

The City Council has appointed the following members:

Councillor Liaqat Ali (Labour)

Councillor Patience Ifediora (Labour)

**Councillor Anwar Khan (Labour)** 

**Councillor Gul Nawaz Khan (Labour)** 

Councillor Devontay Okure (Labour)

**Councillor Nick Raine (Labour)** 

## The County Council has appointed the following members:

Councillor Callum Bailey (Conservative)

**Councillor Richard Butler (Conservative)** 

Councillor John Clarke (Labour)

**Councillor Robert Corden (Conservative)** 

**Councillor Sybil Fielding (Labour)** 

**Councillor Tom Hollis (Independent Alliance)** 

**Councillor Johno Lee (Conservative)** 

**Councillor Michael Payne (Labour)** 

**Councillor Nigel Turner (Conservative)** 

**Councillor Roger Upton (Conservative)** 

**Councillor Jonathan Wheeler (Conservative)** 

**Councillor Jason Zadrozny (Independent Alliance)** 

- (2) to approve the Committee Structure;
- (3) to approve the following appointments to Committees, Chairs and meeting dates:
  - a) Nottinghamshire and City of Nottingham Fire and Rescue Authority (10.30 am unless otherwise stated)

14 July 2023 (to be held at Highfields Fire Station)

- 22 September 2023
- 15 December 2023
- 23 February 2024
- 24 May 2024 (AGM)
- b) Policy and Strategy Committee
  - i. Meeting dates(10.00 am unless otherwise stated)

30 June 2023 17 November 2023 (to be held at Highfields Fire Station) 2 February 2024 26 April 2024

ii. Membership

Councillor Michael Payne (Chair)
Councillor Patience Ifediora

**Councillor Sybil Fielding** 

**Councillor Jonathan Wheeler** 

**Councillor Nigel Turner** 

**Councillor Tom Hollis** 

- c) Human Resources Committee (10.00 am)
  - i. Meeting dates (10.00 am unless otherwise stated)

23 June 2023 10 November 2023 26 January 2024 19 April 2024

#### ii. Membership

Councillor Nick Raine (Chair)
Councillor Gul Nawaz Khan
Councillor Patience Ifediora
Councillor Johno Lee
Councillor Robert Corden
Councillor Tom Hollis

# d) Community Safety Committee

# i. Meeting dates (10.00 am)

9 June 202313 October 202312 January 202415 March 2024

## ii. Membership

Councillor Jason Zadrozny (Chair)
Councillor Devontay Okure
Councillor Nick Raine
Councillor Anwar Khan
Councillor Nigel Turner
Councillor Robert Corden

#### e) Finance and Resources Committee

### i. Meeting dates (10.00 am)

16 June 2023 20 October 2023 (to be held at Highfields Fire Station) 19 January 2024 22 March 2024

### ii. Membership

Councillor John Clarke (Chair)
Councillor Liaqat Ali
Councillor Anwar Khan
Councillor Sybil Fielding
Councillor Callum Bailey
Councillor Richard Butler
Councillor Roger Upton

#### f) The Personnel Committee

- i. This Committee will meet as required;
- ii. Membership

Councillor Gul Nawaz Khan Councillor Patience Ifediora Councillor John Clarke Councillor Nick Raine Councillor Jonathan Wheeler Councillor Johno Lee

## g) Appointments Committee

- i. This Committee will meet as required;
- ii. Membership

Councillor Michael Payne
Councillor Patience Ifediora
Councillor Sybil Fielding
Councillor Jonathan Wheeler
Councillor Johno Lee
Councillor Tom Hollis

## h) Strategic Inclusion Board

- i. This Board will meet at the rising of each full Fire Authority meeting excluding the AGM;
- ii. Membership

Councillor Michael Payne
Councillor Patience Ifediora
Councillor Sybil Fielding
Councillor Jonathan Wheeler
Councillor Nigel Turner
Councillor Tom Hollis

# i) Pensions Board

- i. This Board will meet as advised:
- ii. Membership

Councillor Sybil Fielding
Councillor Patience Ifediora (substitute)
ACFO Candida Brudenell (officer member).